Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

head-above-water

Happy Monday, everyone! I’m not quite sure how this is going to work, nor do I know what y’all will think of this. I’m sure there are thousands of blogs out there that address everyday struggles of a spiritually-minded, devoted wife, mother of three; however, I am doing this anyway. Why? Because if I can impact just one life, then I will consider this a success.

A few days ago, I was having a “bad” day. Now, when I say a “bad day”, I do not mean my Internet crashed or I lost my keys (I’m still looking for them, btw). I’m talking tears, real, free-flowing tears; tears of frustration and fatigue. I could not explain the real cause of these tears except that I was exhausted from trying to make sure everything looked fine to everyone else. But everything wasn’t fine. I felt like I was just barely keeping my head above water and any minute I was going to gulp too much water. “Why?”, I asked. “Why can’t I do everything and stay sane? Why can so-n-so handle it all and still look happy and ready to take on more? Why do I have so much trouble staying on top of EVERYTHING?”  Realistically, I know I can’t do everything, that’s logical, but for some reason my brain can not except that. So, I put all this undo stress on myself and beat myself up for not getting it all done. Result….confused husband, frustrated children, sad mama. Not what I want for my family.

So, back to the other night…I scrolled through Facebook because I did not want to think about anything, and some mindless post scrolling would keep my mind busy. Then I saw it….A post from an article that addressed EXACTLY what I had just been crying about. (God’s timing is perfect) An entire article about asking the question, “How do you do it all?” What a stupid question!!!!! No one does it all. No one is Superwoman. If a mom comes and tells you that she has it all together all of the time, she’s lying! We’re human! We were never designed to be perfect, just faithful. That is what God looks upon. He put that article right smack dab in front of my face because that is what I needed at that moment. Then I thought about the timing of that article, and I realized, “What if I have something that someone else needs to get through the day? What if I can help someone be a better mom, wife, or friend.”

I want this blog to reach people, to touch lives and hearts. If I can make someone laugh because they can relate to my crazy, wonderful, and amazing life, then this is a success. I am not perfect. I do not have all the answers. I do; however, have an amazing relationship with God, I love my family without measure, and I love to write. So, why a blog? Because I want others to know they are not alone. We all go through stuff, and that doesn’t make us weak and it doesn’t mean we can’t get through it, and it certainly doesn’t mean we suck at everything. What it means is; we aren’t perfect, but by golly we can be faithful.

