Tags

, , , , ,

As many of you may be with me on this, I don’t particularly enjoy Mondays. I usually have an abundance of emails to attend to and my kids have a harder time getting back in the groove of their studies and I simply want a third day in the weekend. I mean think about it; Saturday I need to catch up on laundry and housework, take the little one to dance, clean up my office from the week, etc. Then Sunday rolls around and we host fellowship in our home, so we need to do final preps before everyone comes, if I’m teaching; I need to do one more quick run through, then my husband and I may have an afternoon meeting, then we get ready for the week. I need Monday, to rest from the weekend.

Today was different though. Today, my husband took the day off. We talked over the weekend about what we wanted to do that would be fun for all of the kids and not cost anything. So we came up with a plan and set out this morning for downtown. When we arrived at our first destination, we all piled out of the truck and headed for the front door. “Gallery is Closed”, read the sign on the door. Well, that would have been good information to put on their website. Art museum – fail! Next: amazing, privately owned park; complete with fountains and splash pads. The park was beautiful, however, it was overcast and I wouldn’t let the little one in the water, but we walked around, took pictures, ate lunch at a picnic table and had a great time.

Next, a plaza in the middle of downtown. No grass, but a stage and a huge open area to run and be silly. It was actually a fun 10 minutes. Then we went looking for the underground shopping. We have lived here 5 years and have never been. So, why not? We arrive and it’s like the Apocalypse occurred and we were in a weird futuristic tunnel system, complete with food court. Not much shopping, but I think you could get to different parts of the city through it. It was kind of cool, and I can say now, that I’ve been there.

All in all, it was a great day. All 3 kiddos had a blast, even with the Art Museum being closed. It made me thankful for many things that I take for granted. I get to work from home, which allows me to set my own schedule and work around my family. (So thankful for that) I homeschool our kids. This allows us to pack a lunch on the spur of the moment and go play downtown for a few hours. What did they learn today? They learned how important it is to spend time together as a family and enjoy one another. We also looked at the art sculptures around town and each of us explained what we saw. This said a lot about my son. LOL The greatest thing I got out of today, was the fact that I did NOT have an anxiety attack because we strayed off of my routine. I did my work this evening instead, and I was completely okay with it. (Not one ounce of anxiety) That is huge progress and I am so thankful for that!

So….4 hours downtown cost: $0.00, Value: Priceless

Plaza

 

